<- 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12 ->

Alan MacFarlane

Kings College, Cambridge, CB2 1ST, UK

Prof. Alan MacFarlane, born in Assam, India, in 1941, has taught at the Department of Social Anthropology at Cambridge University for thirty-four years and is now Emeritus Professor of Anthropological Science and a Life Fellow of King’s College, Cambridge. He holds a Ph.D. from the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) of the University of London. As an anthropologist and historian he has worked in England, Nepal, Japan and China, focusing on comparative studies of the origins and nature of the modern world. Alan MacFarlane published over twenty books throughout his career. He won the Rivers Memorial Medal for Anthropology Fieldwork (1984) and the William J. Goode Medal of the American Sociological Association (1987). Professor MacFarlane was Honorary Vice-President of the Royal Anthropological Institute and is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society and the British Academy. He has been recognised with a number of distinguished lectures, among which are the Golden Jubilee Lectures at the Delhi School of Economics (1999) and at the SOAS (2000).

Giovanni Maddalena

Faculty of Human Sciences, University of Molise, Italy

Giovanni Maddalena is Assistant Professor at the University of Molise. He works on American Philosophy, especially focusing on Charles S. Peirce and classic pragmatists. He edited, translated and introduced a large Italian anthology of Peirce’s work. With R. Calcaterra he is the head of a series on American Philosophy: “Filosofia angloamericana. Testi e interpretazioni” He is Executive editor of the “European Journal of Pragmatism and American Philosophy”.  He won the Fulbright Research Scholar grant for the year 2009-10.

Dan Maoz

School of Physics and Astronomy, Tel-Aviv University, Tel-Aviv 69978, Israel

Dan Maoz is Professor of Physics and Astronomy at Tel-Aviv University, director of the Wise Observatory and chairman of the Astrophysics Department in the Sackler School of Physics and Astronomy. He has recently published an astrophysics textbook with Princeton University Press (2007) intended for undergraduates on Physical Sciences, which won the Chambliss Award of the American Astronomical Society. Dan Maoz interests includes active galactic nuclei, gravitational lensing and supernovae, in which topics he published over 100 scientific papers. Recent highlights of Professor Maoz’s research include the first measurement of the galactic merger rate of white dwarfs, the discovery of the most distant supernova in 2011, and the first microlensing detection of a solar system analog as well as first limits on terrestrial-mass exoplanets, also obtained from microlensing.

John Mather

NASA Goddard Space Flight Centre, Greenbelt, MD 20771, USA

John Mather won the Nobel Prize in physics in 2006 with George Smoot for his work on measuring the cosmic microwave background radiation, the primordial heat radiation that still fills the universe. The COBE team also discovered the cosmic anisotropy, believed to be the seeds that led to the structure of the universe today. Mather now serves as Senior Project Scientist for the James Webb Space Telescope, planned for launch in 2014 as the successor the great Hubble Space Telescope. Mather is a senior astrophysicist at the U.S. space’s agency’s (NASA) Goddard Space Flight Center in Maryland and Adjunct Professor of Physics at the University of Maryland, College Park. In 2007, Mather was listed among Time magazine’s 100 Most Influential People in The World.

Hans Meinhardt

Max-Planck-Institute for Developmental Biology, Spemannstrs. 35, D-72076, Tübingen, Germany. 

Hans Meinhardt works at the Max-Planck-Institute for Developmental Biology in Tuebingen, Germany. He studied Physics in Cologne and Heidelberg. After his Ph.D. in 1966, he worked for two years at CERN, the European High Energy Laboratory near Geneva. From 1969 onwards he developed, at the MPI in Tübingen, molecularly feasible models for pattern formation during development of higher organims, partially together with Alfred Gierer. Meanwhile, several of these predicted mechanisms found direct support by research on the molecular level. Since 2004 he is emeritus at the Institute. His published books include Models of Biological Pattern Formation (1982) and the Algorithmic Beatuy of Sea Shells (2009).